Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Don’t You Forget About Me: “Boy, You Sure are a Funny Kid, Johnny…”

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on February 17, 2010

Am I the only one who can’t get this song out of his head when seeing the promos for everyone’s favorite fur-wearing, Ruskie-idolizing, Lady Gaga-chumming ice skater’s Sundance documentary series? What’s more, is this what the show’s creators intended to do with the title? I mean, you don’t often see American TV series getting named after Men At Work songs not even released as singles in the US, but I’m not sure what else the show’s title would be referring to, exactly. (Apparently there was also a race horse name named Be Good Johnny, but….nah.) Besides, you can’t deny how perfectly the song fits Mr. Weir in its lyrical portrayal of the titular aloof youngster. No doubt this Johnny was not particularly likely to go out for football or cricket either, and was probably more of a fan of dreaming all the day long. Not to mention that he probably heard the “What kind of a boy are you, Johnny?” question more than once in his time.

I always thought “Be Good Johnny” was another solid entry in what was a very underrated second-tier of hits for Men At Work. A couple other fine Men at Work numbers that have nothing to do with Vegemite or Valley Girl:

And I admittedly know next to nothing about the sport, but I watched that short-program figure skating run last night, and I don’t for the life of me understand how that Evan Lysacek loser was supposedly ten points better than Johnny Weir. I bet you Colin Hay agrees with me.

2 Responses to “Don’t You Forget About Me: “Boy, You Sure are a Funny Kid, Johnny…””

  1. JZ said

    MaW was absolutely a five-“hit” wonder, and I think just about everyone who’s anyone agrees on the five. I was never that big on WCIBN? but O and IaM are both terrific.

    Incidentally, I saw these guys back in ’01 or so, and they claimed they finished their set in Puerto Rico with “Be Good…Juan”.

  2. I agree with them about johnny’s outfit but there is no way in heck i would say that on national tv

Leave a Reply

 
