Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Listeria: A Bunch of Boring Year-End Lists

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on December 31, 2007

2007: A year that truly consisted of 365 days

Now I know doing the whole Pop Culture Hall of Fame thing was supposed to be antithetical to a bunch of boring year-end lists. But fuck it, it’s New Years, and New Years is the time of year-end countdowns. Plus I still kind of like ’em, and I don’t feel much like writing tonight, so I’m just gonna present ’em straight up: My top 20 singles, albums and TV shows, and my 10 favorite movies ‘coz I suck and only saw about that many really good ones (and even then still haven’t most of the ones that should probably be there–based on my top ten it’s been the worst year for movies since Mrs. Miniver won Best Picture).
Singles:

20. Matthew Dear – “Elementary Lover (DJ Koze Remix)”
19. R. Kelly f/ T.I. & T-Pain – “I’m a Flirt”
18. Timbaland f/ OneRepublic – “Apologize”
17. ZZT – “Lower State of Consciousness”
16. Silversun Pickups – “Lazy Eye”
15. Against Me! – “Thrash Unreal”
14. Pop! – “Pop! Goes My Heart”
13. Vampire Weekend – Vampire Weekend EP
12. Dragonette – “I Get Around”
11. Studio – “Out There”
10. Angels and Airwaves – “Everything’s Magic”
9. LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends EP
8. Thieves Like Us – “Drugs in My Body”
7. The National – “Mistaken for Strangers”
6. Velella Velella – Flight Cub EP
5. Lil’ Wayne – “I Feel Like Dying”
4. Beck – “Cell Phone’s Dead (Ricardo Villalobos Remix)”
3. Rich Boy – “Throw Some D’s”
2. Avril Lavigne – “Girlfriend”
1. Soulja Boy – “Crank Dat Soulja Boy”

Albums:

20. The Tough Alliance – New Chance
19. LCD Soundsystem – FabricLive.36
18. Nine Inch Nails – Year Zero
17. Alcest – Souvenirs d’un Autre Monde
16. Wire – Read & Burn 03
15. Timbaland – Shock Value
14. V/A – BBC 40 Years of Radio One
13. Kanye West – Graduation
12. Freeway – Free At Last
11. Ricardo Villalobos – Fabric 36
10. Ted Leo & the Pharmacists – Living with the Living
9. The Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
8. Radiohead – In Rainbows
7. Studio – Yearbook One
6. Fall Out Boy – Infinity on High
5. Ratatat – Remixes, Vol. 1
4. Shocking Pinks – Shocking Pinks
3. Klaxons – Myths of the Near Future
2. The Field – From Here We Go Sublime
1. The National – Boxer

TV Shows (Based on Their ’07 Output):

20. The World Series of Pop Culture
19. 24
18. Ugly Betty
17. Carpoolers
16. Entourage
15. The Office
14. Life
13. My Name is Earl
12. Metalocalypse
11. House
10. Heroes
9. Aliens in America
8. The Sopranos
7. The 4400
6. How I Met Your Mother
5. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
4. 30 Rock
3. Flight of the Conchords
2. Dexter
1. Friday Night Lights
Movies:

10. American Gangster
9. The Bourne Ultimatum
8. The King of Kong
7. Fracture
6. Knocked Up
5. Juno
4. No Country for Old Men (Probably higher once I see it 25 more times)
3. Death Proof (or Gridnhouse, if you count it)
2. Hot Fuzz
1. Superbad

8 Responses to “Listeria: A Bunch of Boring Year-End Lists”

  1. Jason L said

    Haha World Series of Pop Culture somehow snuck into your top TV shows. Nicely played.

    Also, thanks for recognizing that the Fall Out Boy album is fucking amazing. I know that I’ll beat myself up in three years for liking it so much, but I don’t care, it’s just a great pop album.

  2. Garret said

    Solid movies list.

    You need more albums in your life. 2008 resolution if there ever was one.

  3. Anton said

    Best part of Fracture:

    Anthony Hopkins: “My dick has evidence.”
    Judge: “Excuse me?!”
    Anthony Hopkins: “My dick, my private investigator. I call him Dick. My Dick is good.”

  4. Haley said

    I am so glad to see that someone else thought that Fracture was a good movie, seriously overlooked in my opinion.

  5. The Platypus of Truth said

    The National?!?!

  6. Jason L said

    but… the National is awesome…

  7. jonathan said

    “Also, thanks for recognizing that the Fall Out Boy album is fucking amazing. I know that I’ll beat myself up in three years for liking it so much, but I don’t care, it’s just a great pop album.”

    I really need to revisit this record. I dismissed it as a disappointing follow up to From Under the Cork Tree, but then spent all year with the singles on repeat. Now I’m wondering if I’m underrating it because of my original lack of enthusiasm, or mentally downplaying the patchiness I heard in my first listen.

    Also, that National record is great, and gets better every time I hear it.

  8. Sonja said

    WHY DO YOU LIKE SOULJA BOY SO MUCH?

Leave a Reply

 
