Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Charts on Fire: 10-24-07

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on October 26, 2007

You can catch Soulja Boy at your local party, yes he crank it every day. Or you can just check the top of the pop charts, where he’s been for SEVEN FUCKING WEEKS now. Not like I can really blame America for it or anything, dear lord is this song hypnotic. Why I love this song when I hated, hated, hated D4L’s “Laffy Taffy” is utterly beyond me–they’re almost identical in terms of hooks, production and IQ (or, in the case of all three, lack thereof), but D4L topping the charts practically put me into a depression, while I could live with this staying on top until next year.

Nipping at his heels, though, is Chris Brown’s “Kiss Kiss.” Soulja producer Mr. Collipark made some bizarro comment about how Soulja Boy reminds him of a young Michael Jackson (which makes no sense), but far more people have tended to make the comparison with Mr. Brown (which makes perfect sense, though I probably shouldn’t refer to him as Mr. Brown too often). With four Top 15s off his last album (including a tip-topper) and now a #2 with a bullet, he’s already starting to post MJ-like stats, and I gotta say, the song’s damn good, minus the now-obligatory T-Pain cameo (nine top 40 hits this guy is on this year, is nothing sacred????) If he’s not exhuming skeletons and putting voodoo curses on Peter Jackson by ten years’ time, I’ll be pretty disappointed.

Since I haven’t done this column in a long-ass time and have yet to address it, let me also take this time to discuss our country’s #3 single this week, Timbaland and OneRepublic’s “Apologize“. I don’t even remember what my reaction was to this song my first and only listen through Shock Value, but seeing the video for this sorta blindsided me. I’m not even sure if the song’s that great (though I’m certainly digging it), but I just couldn’t get over how different it sounded–splitting the difference between Keane and JT, finding a surprisingly organic-sounding middle ground that actually turns out to be a pretty comfortable way to be. Most of Timbaland’s attempts at rock collabing have been laughable, maybe he just needs to stick to the ballads. In any event, whoever thought Timbo would have three straight top five hits on the left side of the “f/” symbol?

Rounding out the top five are Alicia Keys’ “No One” (suuuuuuuuuucks) and Colbie Cailat’s “Bubbly” (love for this one grows daily). In the low end of the top 10, we’ve got Kanye’s “Stronger” (very ready for this song to die, dropping four to #6), Baby Bash and T-Pain’s “Cyclone” (totally pointless, 11-7), Kanye’s “Good Life” (very ready for this song to go for the glory, up two to #8), Rihanna and Ne-Yo’s “Hate That I Love You” (yawn, 15-9) and that other Timbo single no one’ll remember anything about in a few months except for what a weird title it was (7-10).

Let’s take a minute to address Finger 11’s “Paralyzer” (26-21) and the general recent trend of modern rock bands turning to disco in their moments of need. Maroon 5, Fall Out Boy, and now F11 have all hit paydirt getting into the groove, and this last one is the most improbable example of them all. Anyone remember “One Thing,” their Throwing Copper-ish semi-power-ballad from a few years back? I actually loved that song, but I could never expect a band of such staid accoustic righteousness ever wanting to “make you move,” much less putting their backbeat where their mouth is. Weird.

Other big gainers this week include The-Dream’s “Shawty is a 10” (song{ is more like a 4, LOL, 83-24) Fabolous’s “Baby Don’t Go” (dude’s devotion to mediocrity is touching, 27-25), Playaz Circle f/ Lil’ Wayne’s “Duffle Bag Boy” (there are people on this besides the Lil’est survivor? Whatever, 35-27), DJ Khaled f/ Half the Northern Hemipshere’s “I’m So Hood” (FACT, 40-31), Jordin Sparks’ “Tattoo” (man, did anyone care about the last season of AI? 55-39) and Gorilla Zoe’s “Hood Figga” (only interesting for the clumsy censoring, 41-38).

Speaking of clumsy (yessssss I am amazing at transition sentences), Fergie has a song called exactly that scaling 46 positions to #45 this week. Halfway between “Stars are Blind” and “Ain’t No Other Man” (and yes, I mean both sides of that as a compliment), this is by far the most palatable thing the girl’s done on her own thusfar, though for sheer purposes of fascination, none will ever trump “Fergalicious” or “Glamorous”. Girl’s building up quite the resume, in any event. Take that, M.I.A., you hack.

And Soulja Boy’s second hit is already appearing on the horizon!! “Soulja Girl” (c’mon, what else were you expecting?) climbs 14 to #44, not quite the martian-sounding transmission of planetary dominance that its predecessor was, but one step at a time, I suppose. Meanwhile, super-underrated country sensation Taylor Swift’s got a new one, “Our Song” (Stylus co-writers like Miranda Lambert but I like Taylor more, probably because I still haven’t listened to the Miranda album, 56-46) and that boring asshole Trey Songz extends his lease on life by another four weeks or so with “Can’t Help But Wait” (60-47).

The two coolest new-ons to the charts this week are both about shadows, because they both have the word shadow in the title and that’s cool because shadows are cool and these songs are pretty cool. This is a roundabout way of mentioning how The Killers’ cover of Joy Division’s “Shadowplay,” from new Ian Curtis biopic Control, is the chart’s top debut this week at #68. Some people are crying heresy, but I’m liking it, because I have no respect for anyone. Meanwhile, Linkin Park put a third simultaneous song on the Modern Rock top 20 (only band besides U2 or R.E.M. to ever accomplish this) with “Shadow of the Day,” the sorta U2-via-“When You Were Young” type anthem you feel like they were going for with all of Minutes to Midnight. Works pretty well–there must be at least a one-disc mix worth of great 80s arena-style chest-beaters in the last two or three years of mainstream rock by now.

Chevelle are still pretty cool. Silversun Pickups are one of the better things to happen to rock in 2007. Rolling Stone needs to get over Bruce Springsteen’s tragic death in 2001 and stop giving his posthumous albums five stars. And I wish I could remember the name of a single Dierks Bentley song.

6 Responses to “Charts on Fire: 10-24-07”

  1. Scott said

    Oh, Christ, Andrew. No. Not “Crank Dat.” Anything but “Crank Dat.”

  2. Jeff said

    I like this song. It’s okay. I’ve come to terms with it. even bobby finstock would’ve liked it. And that’s saying something.

  3. Brent said

    Actually, Finger 11 going all disco didn’t surprise me all that much. Their first incarnation (Rainbow Butt Monkeys, which might just be the worst band name ever) was pretty groove-oriented, almost RHCP-lite funk-rock, so “Paralyzer” seems more like them coming full circle after some unfortunate detours than anything else.

  4. Err, the link for “Shadowplay” points elsewhere…

  5. Bonnie H said

    If Melinda Doolittle or Gina Glocksen had won American Idol last season, I personally would’ve cared more. Melinda would have kicked ass, too. I don’t really know how well Blake or Jordin are doing, and I don’t care.

    Other than that, I have no comment. I don’t listen to much new music, and what I do like isn’t on the charts YET anyway.

  6. i only like the travis barker remix. i recommended silversun pickups to you nearly a year ago, so thanks i guess for not paying any attention to me.

Leave a Reply

 
