Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TEST YOUR MIGHT! Quiz #1: Spoken Word Sections in Pop Songs

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on August 3, 2007

Pop Quiz, Hotshot

We got a new weekly tradition brewing here at Intensities in Ten Suburbs, that of the weekly weekend (weekendly?) pop culture quiz. Each week will be a 10 or 20-question exam on a different pop culture category or theme, some taken from training quizzes sent to or from my WSOPC teammates, some taken from further Adventures with Audacity, some just inspired by whatever movie or TV show I’d been watching that week. In any event, if you feel like proving your PC prowess, e-mail me your answers at fadeout95@gmail.com, before Sunday night at Midnight. Haven’t determined what the prizes will be for the winner quite yet–want to see how many people, if anyone, bother to submit answers first.

So here are lyrics to 20 popular songs of the last three decades, lyrics which are part or all of the song’s spoken word section (as well as the year in which they were first released). Name the title of and artist behind the songs in question.

1. “Yeah, we’re runnin’ a little hot tonight…I can barely see the road from the heat comin’ off of it…Ah, you reach down, between my legs….ease the seat back…” (’84)

2. “You can do anything you set your mind to, man.” (’02)

3. “I’m not about to go and cheat on you, just like you did…But baby, that’s all right, hah, I love you anyway. And I’m still gonna be with you until my dying day. Right now, I’m just in so much pain, ‘coz you just won’t come back to me, will you? Just come back to me!” (’92)

4. “And this is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. To tell you, the woman I love, that I’m about to have a baby, by a woman I barely even know. I hope you can accept the fact that I’m man enough to tell you this, and hopefully you’ll give me another chance. This ain’t about my career. This ain’t about my life. It’s about us. Please…” (’04)

5. “Now, usually, I don’t do this, but, uh…gonna go ‘head and break ’em off a little preview of the remix…” (’03)

6. “Like I always say…what’s good for the goose…is always good for the gander.” (’85)

7. “When the doctor told me I was gonna, um…I was gonna have a metal plate in my chin…I said, ‘Doc, don’t you realize I’ll never make it on the plane now? It’s bad enough I got all this jewelry on.'” (’03)

8. “Now come on, what was I supposed to do? He was out of town, and his two friends were sooooooo fiiiiiiiiine……” (’96)

9. “You know what I’m saying? I got every dog in the neighborhood breaking my door down. I got Spuds MacKenzie…Alex from Stroh’s…” (’89)

10. “Honey, check it–tell your friends…to get with my friends…and we could be friends. Honey, shit, we could do this every weekend! A’ight? Is that a’ight wit you? Yeah…keep bangin.’…” (’94)

11. “Get crazy with the cheese wiz!” (’94)

12. “C’mon girls! Do you believe in love? ‘Coz I got something to say about it! And it goes something like this…” (’89)

13. “C’mere baby…you know you drive me up the wall, the way you make good on all the nasty tricks you pull…seems like we’re making up more than we’re making love. And it always seems you got someone on your mind other than me.” (’93)

14. “Hey now ladies…we’re gonna break this thing down for just a few seconds. Now don’t have me break this thing down for nothing! I wanna see y’all on y’all baddest beahvior! Lend me some sugar, I am your neighbor!” (’03)

15. “Good heavens, Mrs. Yakamoto–you’re beautiful!” (’82)

16. “Ring the bell, school’s back in, sucka!” (’90)

17. “Darkness falls across the land, the midnight hour is close at hand…Creatures crawl in search of blood, to terrorize your neighborhood…” (’82)

18. “Wooh, yes sir. I give to the needy…and not the greedy. Uh-huh, that’s right. “Coz you see, baby…when you’re lying…YOU’RE LOSING! AND I’M OUT THE DOOR!” (’92)

19. “All right…I got something to say! Yeah, it’s better to burn out…than fade away!” (’83)

20. “You know, I used to dream about this, when I was a little boy. I never thought it would end up this way…DRUMS!” (’02)

And yes, I am of course well aware that the questions on this quiz are very easily googleable. I, however, choose to have more faith in IITS’s loyal and honest readers than that.

3 Responses to “TEST YOUR MIGHT! Quiz #1: Spoken Word Sections in Pop Songs”

  1. […] Zac Efron Contact the Webmaster Link to Article t-pain TEST YOUR MIGHT! Quiz #1: Spoken Word Sections in Pop Songs » Posted at Intensities in Ten Suburbs on Friday, August 03, 2007 TEST YOUR MIGHT! Quiz #1: Spoken Word Sections in Pop Songs August 3rd, 2007 by Andrew Unterberger Pop Quiz, … m still gonna be with you until my dying day. Right now, Im just in so much pain, coz you just won View Original Article » […]

  2. Victor said

    Egad man, are you mad? Giving away the secrets to our championship conditioning? This is like the Colonel writing a cookbook about his 11 herbs and spices!

  3. Eric Melin said

    Shit. I need to learn how to read. Sorry for posting those. I was blinded by Harvey Sid Fisher. I’ll send them in.

Leave a Reply

 
