Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TV O.D. / It’s All About Me: The World Series of Pop Culture Begins

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on July 9, 2007

The final countdown, so to speak

Well, it’s been nearly four months since Victor Lee, Andrew Weber and myself took the stage at the 2007 World Series of Pop Culture, and about eight months since we first heard that we were going to get a chance to audition. For a long time it felt like this week was never going to come, and for a few weeks there sometime in the middle, I could go whole hours, even days (well, maybe not days, but definitely hours) without even thinking about our brief cameo into the pop culture realms. But now it’s finally come, and it’s sort of hard to think–much less write–about anything else.

The competition officially starts tonight, with match-ups between The White Russians and Reem-a-Leen-Teen-Teen and between Fat Guys in a Little Coat and Team Motherboy. I wasn’t willing to wait for it, though, so I watched the unadvertised, “soft premiere” of the episode that VH1 showed at 11:00 last night, for some reason. I won’t spoil the details for those of you planning to watch it tonight, but merely watching these two matches was almost as nerve-wracking to me as playing in our own was. For every question I wouldn’t have known, I felt like it was me up there, not knowing the answer, subsequently blowing the category, the round and the whole game. For every question I would have known, I was punching the wall and cursing the heavens that it wasn’t me up there, knowing the answer, subsequently sealing the category, the round and the whole game. And it’s not just with the WSOPC either–I tried to watch Spellbound today and I had to turn it off, because it was suddenly too real. At this rate I might never be able to watch GSN again.

Our episode airs tomorrow night, vs. the Improv troupe-based Jammin’ on the 1’s. I’ll be watching it at Weber’s house with some of our friends, and I’m already trying to gear myself up for the rollercoaster of emotions that’s sure to follow. I’ve re-played the match so many times in my head already that actually watching a televisual document of how it unfolded is going to be beyond surreal. Not to mention that I’ll actually have to watch myself on TV–I can barely look at pictures of myself for too long without getting weirded out, actually watching myself in sound + vision should be an, um, educational experience.

I’ll be blogging about our match after it happens, but in the meantime, you should probably check out the opening games tonight–a couple of the rounds were real corkers. In the meantime, I’ll be huddled over here in the corner, muttering to myself and knocking my head against the wall until the whole thing is over. In a good way.

2 Responses to “TV O.D. / It’s All About Me: The World Series of Pop Culture Begins”

  1. Sonja said

    hehe

    corkers.

  2. David said

    It’s not a rollercoaster unless you lose your feet.

Leave a Reply

 
