Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s All About Me: I’m Back, Baby

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on March 24, 2007

The Good Dr. does not exactly lead the glamorous life–however, every once in a while, something happens to him that is worth telling people besides his parents about.

So I have returned, meaning that the competition for the 2007 VH1 WSOPC has finished, and my place in it, for better or worse, has been finalized. Once again, I am strictly forbidden from telling you the details, and unfortunately, this time i gotta keep the results on the dl as well, so none of that here. I think I can make some generalized statements, though.

  • I’m content with how my team and I performed. At the very least, I’m not going to be calling up VH1 daily shouting “DO-OVER!!!!”
  • Aside from all the repetitive VH1 prep stuff (the makeup, the interviews, the photos, etc), it was a whole lot of fun. Even the repetitive stuff was kind of cool in a way.
  • The caliber of team seemed MUCH tougher this year than last year’s batch. And I don’t think this is personal bias speaking, since it seems like just about every round had at least one tiebreaker, and that the teams went way deeper with the tiebreakers than they did on last year’s show.
  • VH1 definitely kicked it up a notch with the trivia this year. Not harder, necessarily, but definitely more interesting–whereas last year 90% of the categories were like “80s TV” or “Action Movies,” this year they had categories that were much more specific, much more creative, and much more fun (and I’m really upset that I didn’t get to play some of them). So even if you don’t give a damn how I did on it, you should watch the World Series anyway, ‘coz it’ll be awesome.
  • TV shows take a lot of people to produce. I watched the show last year and it looked extremely lo-fi–you got a bunch of people in an auditorium basically just talking to each other, how tricky could that be? And that’s basically all it still was, except we must’ve met at least 50 VH1 people working on it in the process. It was sort of eye-opening.
  • The generation gap between my team and the great majority of the teams there was utterly ridiculous. We got along well with a number of them, but while me and my team were just continually talking pop culture, it seemed like all the other teams were talking about their mortgages, jobs, spouses and even families–I couldn’t believe how many people there had kids, or high-powered jobs, or hot wives. I can’t imagine how they have all that stuff and continue to kick ass at pop culture trivia, but kick ass almost all of them most certainly did. Impressive stuff, even if it left our team a little alienated at parts.
  • No matter how it’s structured, really, and no matter how you do at it, good pop culture trivia is always intoxicating. Getting to do it on TV is just a bonus.

Back to our regularly scheduled programming tomorrow.

-Andrew

7 Responses to “It’s All About Me: I’m Back, Baby”

  1. Joe said

    When will these start airing? Sorry if that’s been asked before.

  2. Andrew Unterberger said

    July, starts the 8th I believe.

  3. jen said

    I was just curious, what audition city did you attend?

  4. Andrew Unterberger said

    New York.

  5. jen said

    Oh goodness, I thought so. I know you can’t share team name, right? How about audition time?

  6. Andrew Unterberger said

    uh, Friday at 11:00. We had a different team name then anyway.

  7. jen said

    Right On, We were at 5pm….no such luck though. Can’t wait til July!

Leave a Reply

 
