Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Take Five: In the Year 2000

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on March 9, 2007

A representative sample of the latest wonders rocking The Good Dr.ís world and plaguing his mind.

One of my favorite ways to listen to music is to listen to my mp3s on random from a certain year–for some reason I find that a particularly tasty way to digest music, since it’s coherent while still being completely jumbled from one song to the next. The problem is that because of this, I can’t really do it while my roommates (or anyone else for that matter) are around, since it’s too difficult to have to explain why I’m transitioning from At the Drive-In to Marc Anthony to “Spaced Invader” without getting some seriously weird looks. However, my roommates are out for the weekend, so since last night I’ve been taking advantage of this by cranking the ’00 tunes without having to look over my shoulder. Also, by drinking beer and dancing in my underwear. Spring break is a beautiful thing. Here’s five random ones in a row:

Darude vs. Robert Miles – “Children of the Sandstorm: Oh man, what a thing. The only two instrumental dance songs in the last 12 years that the American public gave half a crap about, blended together (actually somewhat seamlessly) into one seven-minute ravegasm (well, US rave anyway). Actually, though, I’m not sure how this could possibly be from 2000, since mashups didn’t really start to get popular until at least 2001 (and neither did “Sandstorm” if I remember correctly) but hey, the “Jock Jams Megamix” was ’97, and SWV’s “Right Here / Human Nature” was all the way back in ’92, so I’m gonna trust my past self on this one.

Underworld – “Rez / Cowgirl (Live): Sorta cheating here, since technically these two songs are from ’92 and ’93, respectively, but this blend, courtesy of Underworld’s mindblowingly blissful 2000 live album Everything Everything is more or less unique to 2000, so I’m counting it. “Rez” and “Cowgirl” are, respectively, two of the greatest dance songs of the 90s (or probably even of all-time), and I’ve written about the inextricable connection between the two at length before, and this mix of the two just emphasizes the strengths of both while seamlessly weaving in out of each other. It’s about the greatest high that dance music has the potential to produce, which is REALLY saying something.

Everclear – “A.M. Radio: Everclear took the lead from late-90s faux-SoCalers LEN and Bran Van 3000 with this extremely out of character ’00 hit. Laid back, nostalgic and sun-kissed for once instead of draggy, self-loathing and cynical, if it wasn’t for the unfortunate “We like rock, we like soul, we like soul but we NEVER LIKED DISCO” outro, this could’ve been one of the band’s classics, up there with “Santa Monica” and “Everything to Everyone.” As such, it just stands as a fascinating and mostly successful one-time change of skin. Either way, props to the boys for the Jean Knight sample–her kids ain’t gonna put themselves through college, after all.

Teenage Fanclub – “Dumb Dumb Dumb: I’m not really even sure why I have this mp3, since I was pretty sure I didn’t much care for post-Bandwagonesque Teenage Fanclub. Still, even at their worst, the Fannies still provide imminently listenable power and/or jangle-pop, and this song is no exception. Doubt I’ll remember a thing about it by the next time I come across it, though.

Moose – “Can’t Get Enough of You: Wow, NO idea where I got this one from. Still, pretty good stuff–Moose were a perpetually underrated 90s outfit, and though I’m shocked they stuck around for long enough to create a 2000 song that I for some reason deemed worthy of downloading, this is a pretty great pop song right here. I ought to get an album of these guys one of these days, or at least a best of (though whether I could allow myself to buy a CD titled The Best of Moose is still uncertain).

Leave a Reply

 
