Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s All About Me: The 2007 World Series of Pop Culture, Bitches

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on January 22, 2007

The Good Dr. does not exactly lead the glamorous life–however, every once in a while, something happens to him that is worth telling people besides his parents about.

So that happened. I’m not really sure how, considering how astronomical the odds were against us, but me and two of my friends/teammates/College Bowl brothers in arms managed to win the New York regional qualifier for the VH1 2007 World Series of Pop Culture, earning us a guaranteed place in the competition this March (to be televised over the summer). To say that this happening validates my existence would probably be something of an understatement–from when I started memorizing MTV Top 20 Videos of the Week countdowns in the fourth grade, up until I held my own version of the WSOPC during my day job last summer, pop culture trivia has possessed enough of mental energy to tie even sex and anxiety for brain space (and thank god for that, really). Every time I stayed up till 3:00 on a Thursday night because they were having a Next marathon on MTV, every time I ignored family and friends to obsessively listen to the entirety of my various local radio stations’ “Top ____ of All-Time” countdowns, every time I pored over lists of Oscar nominations in Middle school when I should have been learning about photosynthesis–it all suddenly has a purpose to it.

I would love to go over the entire process here, to detail every question my team or the opposing team got or missed, every nail-biting tiebreaker, and every last minute Hail Mary when it looked like we were done for, but VH1 has firmly sworn us to secrecy over the contents of the tryouts, and thus I am strictly verbotten to divulge them, lest I jeopardize the future of either my team or this blog. Suffice to say, it was quite a trying experience–our team was the last to be called back for an interview, and we were all convinced that we hadn’t made the cut (so overjoyed was I to hear that this was not the case that I actually hugged the woman who announced it–needless to say, I am not normally in the business of hugging strangers). The eight hours between our first audition and the call back to let us know that we had made it to the qualifiers was arguably the longest and most nerve-racking of my life, and I hope to god I never have to see what my face looked like when it seemed like I had blown our second round match in the qualifier. Up until last night, I hadn’t gotten more than five consecutive hours of sleep in over a week, and when they took my blood pressure at the doctor’s office today, it was significantly higher than normal (“I’ve, um, been under some stress lately” was all I could stammer for an explanation–I wonder just how common Game Show-related physical maladies are in the world of medicine).

Still, all’s well that ends well, and we somehow managed to end this one beautifully. Check your local cable listings for me this summer.

8 Responses to “It’s All About Me: The 2007 World Series of Pop Culture, Bitches”

  1. Erick said

    Ah yeah. Anddrew Unterberger. The double D stands for a double douse of pop culture.

    PS tonight the idea of Jim Jarmusch and Jim Jones making a movie and/or music video came up, I thought I should let you know.

  2. Andrew Unterberger said

    BALLIN’!!!

  3. Joe said

    Incredible news! Congratulations.

  4. greg said

    we are auditioning in chicago. i dont have your level of knowledge apparently, but I’ll give it a go. How will we know your team in NYC?

  5. Incredibly great, but not even slightly surprising – if you get YouTubed, you’ll post it, right?

  6. Undercooked Sausage said

    Wow, if anyone in the world has ever deserved to be on this show, it’s you. grats.

  7. Mitchell Stirling said

    Someone make sure I can get a torrent off this.

  8. Garret said

    Hey, I’m online!

Leave a Reply

 
