Intensities in Ten Suburbs

Just another WordPress.com weblog

That Guy Salute: The “Bitches, Man” Kid in Say Anything

Posted by Andrew Unterberger on January 17, 2007

The That Guy Salute pays tribute to those nameless and occasionally faceless supporting characters that nonetheless provide the broth for the rich stew of Pop Culture.

Few scenes from any movie from the last 20 years have been as firmly ingrained into not just pop culture, but American culture at large, as the famous “In Your Eyes” boombox scene from the 1989 Cameron Crowe classic Say Anything. The Wikipedia Page lists dozens of references to the movie in things ranging from TV to Music to even Fashion, and almost all of them have to do with someone blaring Peter Gabriel outside a paramour’s window in some sort of romantic gesture. Of course, this scene deserves to be as well remembered as it does–few movie images could hope to be as instantly iconic as watching Lloyd Dobler hold up that (ridiculously heavy looking) boombox with a look of stone determination on his face, with one of the great love songs of the 80s reminding us of the pasison the two recently shared (though I feel like I must note that of the 17 years of apparently devoted Say Anything viewers, no one seems to notice that this method in fact does not work–Diane looks a little guilty, sure, but she basically just says “oh, how about that,” rolls over and goes back to bed, not returning to Cusack until singificantly later in the movie).

The danger with a movie scene being as firmly canonized as this one is that people tend to start to forget how great the rest of the movie is. In fact, I wouldn’t consider the boombox scene to be the best or even the most memorable in the movie, necessarily–for me that honor would probably go to the scene of Lloyd’s ill-advised Saturday Night trip to the Gas n Sip, in which he briefly attempts to connect with some guys for post-breakup advice. The scene features one of those great movie devices that you sort of wish could exist in real life, where you pan down a line of people, and one at a time, they each give you their words of wisdom on the situation at hand without interrupting or commenting on one another. The first guy, Joe, tells him “no babe is worth it,” and “hang with us, we’ll teach you”. The second, Howard, says women can’t be trusted because “they spend all your money, and they tell their friends everything.” The third, Denny, advises Lloyd to “find a girl just like her, nail her, and then dump her”. The fourth, Mark (I swear, none of these names are ever actually mentioned in the movie–thanks IMDB) comforts Lloyd that his “only mistake was that [he] didn’t dump her first.” And then, the fifth, a tweve-year-old-looking kid apparently named Luke, sums up with two words, not only Lloyd’s current dilemma, but an entire male generation’s worth of romantic and sexual frustration: “Bitches, man.”

John Green, Jr., the actor who plays Luke, has no other lines in the movie (well, after imparting his wisdom, he gets a page or something and says “I’d better bail, see you later.”) In fact, according to IMDB at least, he would have no other lines in anything ever, as his role in Say Anything was apparently a career peak too high to ever hope to follow up, and he never appeared in another movie. The only other movie he is listed as appearing in on either IMDB or the All Movie Guide was as Bernard is the AMG two-star rated 1989 Mimi Rogers / Gary Busey thriller Hider in the House.

Looks pretty good, but I guess it wasn’t enough. Meanwhile, Google turns up nothing for John–I can’t even find anything that confirms how old the guy is. Still, with two words, he will be forever immortalized in the annals of teen movie culture, if not quite on the same cross-culture level as Lloyd’s ridiculous wrist stanima. Here’s hoping that the “Bitches, Man” kid is out there at this very moment, using his line to try to pick up doey-eyed emo girls at a community college somewhere.

10 Responses to “That Guy Salute: The “Bitches, Man” Kid in Say Anything”

  1. […] I can’t help feel sort of bad for Jesse Flanagan, the actor who plays Larry, though. Not only did he go on to do almost as little the “Bitches, Man” kid from Say Anything (at least Flanagan has a minor role in Art School Confidential and a guest spot on Malcolm in the Middle to his credit), but he can’t even really milk his Big Lebowski for much either. He’s got no cute quote, no funny expression, nothing to go on except that blank, deer-in-moderately-shaded-headlights stare. Even the stoner chicks probably aren’t too impressed with that. […]

  2. SIW said

    All of the guys are sitting against a wire fence drinking and
    eating crisps. As each of them talks, the rest agree with him.

    JOE
    Lloyd man, no babe is worth it, you know. Listen, hang with us
    man, we’ll teach you [?].

    GUY 1
    Right. Lloyd man, you can’t even trust them man, because you
    know what it’s about? They spend your money, and they tell their
    friends everything man, it’s bigonomics. (?)

    GUY 2
    Man, all you gotta do is find a girl who looks just like her,
    nail her, and then dump her man, get her off your mind.

    MARK
    Your only mistake is that you didn’t dump her first. Diane Court
    is a showpony. You need a stallion, my friend. Walk with us and
    you walk tall.

    LUKE
    Bitches, man! Hey dude, I’d better bail. See you later.

    They all say goodbye.

    MARK
    Later for you, Luke.

    LLOYD
    I got a question. If you guys know so much about women, how come
    you’re here at like the Gas ‘n’ sip on a Saturday night
    completely alone, drinking beers, no women anywhere?

    Silence.

    JOE
    By choice, man!

    GUY 2
    Yeah man, conscious choice.

    They all agree.

    GUY 1
    I’m choosing it.

    JOE
    Dude, where’d she dump you man?

    LLOYD
    My car.

    JOE
    Your car?

    GUY 1
    Ah, man, ditched in the Malibu?

    GUY 2
    Ah, heinous.

    MARK
    It’s your castle, man.

    GUY 2
    Man, you never had a chance with a girl like that.

    MARK
    Hey man, I was in love once. I got hurt really bad. I never
    wanna go through that again.

    GUY 2
    Man, you’re bringing me down!

    GUY 1
    Shutup man. We’re going to a Keger (?) Lloyd. We’re going to a
    Keger and we’d like you to come. We’re going to find you a girl.
    We’re going to find you a babe. We’re gonna find you one hot-
    lipped babe, instantly promised.

    LLOYD
    No, no.

    GUY 1
    Right. One hot-lipped babe instantly promised.

    LLOYD
    Look, I’m not going to meet somebody like Diane Court at a Keger.
    This girl was different, man. We’d go out, we wouldn’t even have
    to go out, you know? We’d just hang out. This girl made me
    trust myself, man. I was walking around and I was feeling
    satisfied. Can you imagine that? Then she cuts me loose. I
    don’t know why. She won’t tell me. Who knows the real reason?
    Maybe it’s because of her father, I don’t know. She won’t talk
    to me. She won’t even look at me.

    He throws his bottle against the fence and it smashes. The
    others get up.

    MARK
    Come on!

    GUY 1
    Christ Lloyd, what’s happening to you man?

    GUY 2
    You’re freaking out here man.

    MARK
    You’ve gotta get her out of your head, man.

    JOE
    Chill man, come on.

    The others start rapping in the background.

    Dude, I don’t even feel that way about my car, man. Dude, name a
    babe, alright? Any babe in Seattle and I’ll set you up with her.

    LLOYD
    Diane Court.

    JOE
    Dude, I can’t do it!

  3. Dave said

    John Green Jr. was also in back to the future part one. He is the kid riding the scooter that Marty takes it from and then breaks it into a skateboard. He was also in a bunch of episodes of My so called life, 90210 and other stuff.

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0337566/

  4. Movie Times Blog…

    […]That Guy Salute: The “Bitches, Man” Kid in Say Anything « Intensities in Ten Suburbs[…]…

  5. Nathy said

    So in case you were all wondering, I know him and he is now living in a trailer doing god knows how many drugs, and building cabinets with wood from palets. I googled him after I found out that he had been in movies and found this site. oh and he is 36 years old.

  6. Mrs.Dobler said

    There’s a great homage to the “Bitches, man” line in “Warm Bodies.” I think I may have been the only one in the audience to get it, but it was great. I agree that it’s lines like this one that get forgotten, but they really do make the movie.

  7. Mariana said

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this website on regular basis to obtain updated from newest reports.

  8. garcinia said

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m
    not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

Leave a Reply

 
